Skip to content

Chinese lesson #1

February 10, 2009
tags:

There are 37 sounds and 4 tones in Chinese. You can hear all the sound at http://www.mdnkids.com/BoPoMo/. The tones, however, are quite hard to explain. I’ll cover this in more details later on. Below are examples of words and how they are composed. Since I couldn’t type the tone mark, the number of tone are presented instead.

ㄅ : 爸爸 – ㄅㄚ4 – dad
ㄆ : 花瓶 – ㄏㄨㄚ1 + ㄆ一ㄥ2 – vase
ㄇ : 媽媽 – ㄇㄚ1 – mom
ㄈ : 方法 – ㄈㄤ1 + ㄈㄚ3 – method

And there are two forms of “you”: male (你) and female (妳). I took a mistake by using the male one to greet my girlfriend’s sister -_-“.

You may want to check out MDBG Chinese-English dictionary. It’s really cool.

Disclaimer: I wrote this as a note for myself. I do not guarantee correctness. Use it at your own risk. License: CC-BY-NC

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

